Latest news

HCDSB Announces the Student Award of Excellence Recipients!

Each year, the Halton Catholic District School Board (HCDSB) celebrates exceptional students across our school district at the Annual Student Awards of Excellence Ceremony. This year, due to COVID-19 precautions in place, we are recognizing and congratulating our student recipients virtually!

Congratulations to Gwen Llewellyn who won the Student Award of Excellence & Cheyenne Ross who won the Spirit of Inclusion Award for Holy Rosary Catholic Elementary School!

About Gwen

Gwen is a passionate, dedicated and hard-working student who is the perfect candidate for the Award of Excellence. Her involvement with our Student Parliament Body and our school parish has enabled her to demonstrate her leadership skills, her Catholic commitment, and her dedication to our school community. She is a caring citizen, friend and student who will continue to inspire and lead others to make responsible choices. 

About Cheyenne

Cheyenne always encourages others to do their best and does so in a positive manner.  She goes above and beyond to help her peers succeed when they are going through challenges and to succeed socially, emotionally and academically.  Cheyenne volunteers in many ways at her school such as: assisting with primary students, keeping the classroom calendar up to date, making and selling popcorn, helping her peers and by spreading kindness. Cheyenne makes everyone around her feel loved, valued and respected as an inclusive and welcoming student. 

About the Awards

  • The Student Awards of Excellence are presented annually to a student from each elementary and secondary school who has demonstrated outstanding qualities in Catholic leadership, family commitment, involvement in school affairs and community activities.
  • The Spirit of Inclusion Award was created by the Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC), and is presented each year to elementary and secondary students who demonstrate a commitment to school activities and to their community, making their peers feel valued and respected.

To see a full list of award recipients, please visit our Board website.

Junior Communications Officer, TemporaryHCDSB Announces the Student Award of Excellence Recipients!